Weekly Update

Church Life

Then Jesus told them a parable about their need to pray always and not to lose heart.

Luke 18:1

Discipleship Series ~ Our everyday “Yes” to God

Each Sunday this fall we will be walking together through a series called, “Discipleship – Our everyday ‘Yes’ to God.” All throughout Scripture, meals offer powerful imagery for who God is, who we are, and what life is really about. In the gospels, the tables that Jesus shares with others often prompt invitations for them to follow him. We will be exploring some of these “eating stories” as a way of encouraging one another in our everyday “Yes” to God.

All are welcome to join us at the table each week!

Free Citizenship Clinic happening! Looking for volunteers!

Date: Sat. Oct. 26th

Time: 8:00 am – 1:00 pm

Location: Alhambra High School Dream Center-C122

Currently looking for volunteers to assist in the following:

-Form Filling

-Interpreting for Mandarin (primarily) and Spanish

-Checking in and welcoming

Training will be provided the day of from 8:00-9:00 am!

Please contact Jessica Ornelas (jornelas@ircsgv.org) or Sarahi Lira (slira@ircsgv.org) for further information!

Click to view flyer for more information.

***

Marriage Support — Quarterly Gathering October 27

If you and your spouse would like to find more support from the church in honoring your marriage covenant and/or if you’d like to offer support and encouragement to other married couples, please join us in a space for honest reflection acknowledging unique joys and challenges in the commitments we’ve made. This gathering is for those who have taken marriage vows, with both partners present. Childcare will be provided. Sunday, October 27, 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. Please RSVP to Sonia at sonialuginbuhl@mountainsidecommunion.org

***
invitecard-01

To RSVP, Sponsor or buy a table, email Jean@ircsgv.org or go to www.ircsgv.org/gala

To volunteer, email Katey.Cabrera@gmail.com

***

Fall Men’s Gatherings

For men looking for deeper connections and conversations about their lives around a fire. Meeting every other week over the Fall quarter from 8:00 – 10:00 PM. Locations are rotating.

ALTERNATING TUESDAY/THURSDAYS @ 8 PM EVERY OTHER WEEK*

Tuesday, 10/22 | 177 N. Encinitas Avenue, Monrovia | TIM SCHEIDLER hosting*

Thursday, 11/7 | 1603 3rd Street, Duarte | DAVID SMITH hosting*

Tuesday, 11/19 | 432 W. Lime Avenue, Monrovia | JASON SAMUELIAN hosting*

Thursday, 12/5 | 518 West Olive Avenue, Monrovia | DANIEL LUNDGREN hosting*

Tuesday, 12/17 | 347 W. Colorado Blvd, Monrovia | JEFF WESTRA hosting

***

Saturday Science Days 2019-2020 – City of Hope

Come enjoy FREE science days offered by City of Hope during 2019-2020. Click here for a flyer with all of the dates and topics for this year. The sessions will still be on the 3rd Saturday of each month, and we will still offer an AM session from 10: am-12:00 pm, and an afternoon session from 1:30-3:30 pm.

Registration will still start at 9:00 am on the 1st of each month (as a reminder, you only register for 1 month at a time) through Eventbrite: SaturdayScienceDaysCOH.eventbrite.com.

Contact Cynthia Ulloa (culloa@coh.org) for all waitlist requests and confirm/cancel emails and reminders. Please make sure you send her your requests (be sure to include student names, ages, school city, home city, school name, and preferred session).

***

Contact Mountainside

Sunday Service: 10:00 AM

Tithes and Offerings: To give through PayPal, click here to offer a one time gift or set up a recurring monthly contribution. Please be aware that Mountainside is charged extra for PayPal payments. Josh Ivy joshivy@me.com can answer any questions about eliminating these extra costs.

Tidings: If you have an announcement to include in Mountainside Tidings, please send to tidings@mtside.org by noon on Wednesdays.

Church Calendars: To view Mountainside’s calendar of events, click here

Podcasts: Click sermons tab for the most recent sermons.

Pastoral Team: Josh Smith joshsmith@mtside.org

Sonia Luginbuhl sonialuginbuhl@mtside.org

Deborah Smith deborahsmith@mtside.org

Tiffany Westra tiffanywestra@mtside.org

Misty Easton-Wise mistyeastonwise@mtside.org

Mountainside Communion:303 West Colorado Blvd., Monrovia, CA 91016Phone: (626) 358-7585Email: info@mountainsidecommunion.org

Immigration Resource Center:Phone: (626) 509-9472Email: info@ircsgv.org