Weekly Update

Church Life

Praying the Psalms: Professing God’s Presence

These past Sundays, we began our Epiphany series on the Psalms with an invitation to pray them together over the next few weeks, understanding them as tools for raising our awareness of God’s presence with us everyday. This week we are encouraged to be reading, praying, and meditating upon Psalm 1 in preparation for worship. We will also be hearing from different people about ways that they have seen or experienced God’s presence lately. If you would like to share about God’s movement in your life, please contact Tiffany, Misty, Josh, Deborah, or Sonia to let them know. Hearing these stories from one another will be gift to us all.

Prayer and Anointing

Each week during Eucharist we are offering prayer and anointing in the back by the Foyer and in the South Transept. Anointing is a symbol of God’s presence and spiritual anointing in our lives; it is a reminder that we are sealed in covenant with God in Christ. If we have been baptized, it is a reminder of our baptism, too. If we have not been baptized, it is a symbol of hope and trust in God’s love and God’s future. All are welcome to receive prayer and anointing.

Pasadena Communion Gathering

A neighborhood engagement focused gathering with hopes of participating in the good justice work that is already happening in the Pasadena community.

This is an open group and you may attend as you can.

Here is the schedule and locations: click here

If you have questions or aren’t able to attend but want to be involved, please email Naomi Yokota NaomiMehlYokota@gmail.com or Misty Jo Easton-Wise: misty@mtside.org

Lunch with Cristo Es Nuestra Roca, Sunday February 24th after Church

We share our space at 303 West, with Cristo Es Nuestra Roca, a Spanish speaking congregation which is pastored by our dear friend Cecilia Sentana. They are inviting Mountainside to join them for lunch! They are cooking and have the desire to share a meal in gratitude for all of the collaboration at Mountainside. All ages are welcome, and an RSVP is necessary. Please text Sonia if you will be joining us with number of people. This is a chance for us to receive hospitality from CENR.

January Giving Report

Screen Shot 2019-02-10 at 5.39.41 PM
***

Mountainside Tidings – Join the Team!

The Mountainside Tidings Team who compiles the web-based Tidings publication is looking for a 4th person to fill a vacancy! If you are interested in participating in this shared-work (three-month commitment about an hour each week and work from your own computer) or if you have any questions, please contact Becky Neufeld at backalou@gmail.com or Nate Ritzau at nritzau@gmail.com, or Esther Tam at etphonehm@gmail.com. Be part of the team that keeps us all informed!

Experience not essential but reliability is desirable!

***

Community Life

Meal Train

Welcome baby Everett Sequoia Ngo born on December 22, 2018 please sign up here:

Green Starfish Summer Camp – Save the Date!

Mountainside’s cooperative summer art camp for preschool and elementary students is happening June 10 – June 14. More info to come. Questions? Contact Janeen Samuelian (janeen_samuelian@yahoo.com).

***

Contact Mountainside

Sunday Service:
 10:00 AM

Tithes and Offerings: To give through PayPal, click here to offer a one time gift or set up a recurring monthly contribution. Please be aware that Mountainside is charged extra for PayPal payments. Josh Ivy joshivy@me.com can answer any questions about eliminating these extra costs.

Tidings: If you have an announcement to include in Mountainside Tidings, please send to tidings@mtside.org by noon on Wednesdays.

Church Calendars: To view Mountainside’s calendar of events, click here

Podcasts: Click sermons tab for the most recent sermons.

Pastoral Team: Josh Smith joshsmith@mtside.org; Sonia Luginbuhl sonialuginbuhl@mtside.org; Deborah Smith deborahsmith@mtside.org; Tiffany Westra tiffanywestra@mtside.org; Misty Easton-Wise mistyeastonwise@mtside.org.

Mountainside Communion: 303 West Colorado Blvd., Monrovia, CA 91016 Phone: (626) 358-7585 Email: info@mountainsidecommunion.org

Immigration Resource Center: Phone: (626) 509-9472 Email: info@ircsgv.org